Educación, Fundación Botín

The team of the Water Observatory

The Water Observatory team is made up of an interdisciplinary group of 13 scientists in two locations, one at the Complutense University of Madrid and another at the Research Centre for the Management of Agricultural and Environmental Risks (CEIGRAM) at the Technical University of Madrid.

The team combines experience and skills in hydrogeology, engineering, geology, economy, geography, public policy analysis and ecology.

Management: Ramón Llamas, Honorary Director of the Water Observatory; Alberto Garrido, Director of the Water Observatory; Lucía De Stefano, Deputy Director of the Water Observatory.

Advisory Board: Teodoro Estrela Monreal, Confederación Hidrográfica del Júcar; José Dolz Ripollés, Universitat Politécnica de Catalunya; Guido Schmidt, Fresh-Thoughts Consulting.

Senior researchers: Maite Aldaya

Former senior researchers - Currently collaborators: Elena López-Gunn; Pedro Martínez-Santos; Bárbara Willaarts

PhD students:

Former Phd students - Currently collaborators: Daniel Chico; Insa Flachsbarth; Marta Rica

Currently Doctors: Aurélien Dumont; Gloria Salmoral

Other students: Alejandro de Blas; Beatriz Mayor; Silvia Díaz Alcaide.


Management and Secretariat
Complutense University of Madrid
Geodynamics Dpt.
Geology Faculty
Madrid 28040

Prof. Ramón Llamas (


Research Centre for the Management of Agricultural and Environmental Risks
Technical University of Madrid
Madrid 28040

Prof. Alberto Garrido (


Collaborators of the Water Observatory:

Other collaborating organizations:

Useful links for information and dissemination:


Botín Foundation